REEI publishes letter of solidarity with CEU

Side window detail of the Global and International Studies Building

On December 7th, 2018, REEI published a letter of solidarity with our colleagues at Central European University signed by Indiana University faculty and staff.

Letter of Solidarity

December 7, 2018

We, faculty and staff members at Indiana University Bloomington (U.S.A.), express the deepest solidarity with our colleagues at Central European University. Over the last two decades Indiana University faculty and students have participated in numerous mutually beneficial and fruitful academic projects with colleagues at CEU. Students with degrees from CEU regularly have entered and excelled in our graduate programs at Indiana University, enhancing the intellectual vitality of our campus in the process. We value CEU as a place of extraordinary talent, professionalism, and intellectual freedom which is justly recognized as one of the premier institutions of higher learning in Central Europe.

Though profoundly distressed by the circumstances that have compelled CEU to leave its home in Budapest at the behest of the Hungarian government, we nonetheless support CEU's decision to preserve its academic integrity by relocating to Vienna so that it can continue to train the next generation of scholars and practitioners at the highest caliber.

Academic freedom is under attack in many parts of the world. That it has been undermined in the heart of Europe, by an EU member state, is particularly disturbing to those of us who have welcomed the spread of democracy in the region after the fall of the Berlin Wall. We are gravely concerned that the government of Hungary continues to erode its people’s freedoms, rights, and access to information. We believe that now is the time for all members of the global republic of letters to rally in support of CEU and its mission of spreading education and enlightenment in Central Europe.


Jeffrey C. Isaac, Professor of Political Science

Sarah D. Phillips, Director, Russian and East European Institute, and Professor of Anthropology

Mark Trotter, Associate Director, Russian and East European Institute

Francis M. Tyers, Assistant Professor of Computational Linguistics

Anya Peterson Royce, Chancellor’s Professor of Anthropology and of Comparative Literature

Herbert A. Terry, Professor Emeritus of Telecommunications

Martha Nyikos, Associate Professor, Literacy Culture and Language Education

Padraic Kenney, Professor of History and International Studies

M. Nazif Shahrani, Professor of Anthropology and Central Eurasian Studies

Jacob Emery, Associate Professor of Slavic and Comparative Literature

Valéria Varga, Senior Lecturer of Hungarian Language and Culture

Alvin H. Rosenfeld, Irving M. Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies and Director of the Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism

Małgorzata E. Cavar, Assistant Professor of Linguistics

Hiroaki Kuromiya, Professor of History

Maria Bucur, Professor of Gender Studies and History

Colin R. Johnson, Associate Professor of Gender Studies

Marianne Kamp, Associate Professor, Central Eurasian Studies

Halina Goldberg, Professor of Musicology

Bill Johnston, Professor of Comparative Literature

Alex Lichtenstein, Professor of History and Editor, American Historical Review

Kaya Şahin, Associate Professor of History

Aurelian Craiutu, Professor of Political Science

Joseph Varga, Associate Professor of Labor Studies

Jack Bielasiak, Professor of Political Science

Katarzyna Rydel-Johnston, Assistant Director, Inner Asian and Uralic National Resource Center

William E. Scheuerman, Political Science and International Studies

Marianne Kielian-Gilbert, Professor of Music Theory

Benjamin Robinson, Germanic Studies

Giovanni Zanovello, Associate Professor of Musicology

Sara Friedman, Professor of Anthropology and Gender Studies

Hannah Buxbaum, Professor of Law and Vice President for International Affairs

Debra Friedman, Assistant Professor of Second Language Studies

Javier F. Leon, Director, Latin American Music Center

Douglas R. Hofstadter, Professor of Cognitive Science and Comparative Literature

Purnima Bose, Associate Professor of English and International Studies

Kathleen Evans, Director, Indiana University Language Workshop

Henry R. Cooper, Jr., Professor Emeritus, Slavic Languages and Literatures

Andréa Stanislav, Associate Professor, School of Art Architecture and Design

Erica Isaacson, Junior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics

J. Peter Burkholder, Distinguished Professor of Musicology

Michelle Dalmau, Associate Librarian for Digital Collections Services and Co-Director of the Institute for Digital Arts & Humanities

James Naremore, Emeritus Chancellors’ Professor

Darlene J. Sadlier, Professor Emerita, Spanish and Portuguese

Bradley Levinson, Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Lesley Davis, Assistant Dean for International Programs, Maurer School of Law

Justin Otten, School of Public Health, Adjunct Faculty at the Russian and East European Institute

Marcia Baron, James H. Rudy Professor of Philosophy

Rega Wood, Professor of Philosophy

Stephanie Kane, Professor of International Studies

Svitlana Melnyk, Lecturer, Department of Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures

Gergana May, Senior Lecturer of Germanic Studies and European Studies

David L. Ransel, Robert F. Byrnes Professor Emeritus

Edward Auer, Professor, Piano

Dov-Ber Kerler, Dr. Alice Field Cohn Chair in Yiddish Studies and Professor of Jewish Studies and Germanic Studies

Oscar Kenshur, Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature

Russell Scott Valentino, Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion and International Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures

Elaine Monaghan, Professor of Practice, Media School

Alexander Rabinowitch, Professor Emeritus of History

Janet Rabinowitch, Director Emeritus, Indiana University Press

Lee Feinstein, Founding Dean, Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies

Ke-Chin Hsia, Lecturer of History

Malcolm Hamrick Brown, Professor Emeritus of Music

Christine Ogan, Professor Emerita, The Media School, School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering

Abdulkader Sinno, Associate Professor of Political Science and Middle Eastern Studies

Constance Cook Glen, Senior Lecturer of Music, Jacobs School of Music

Gyorgy Kara, Professor of Central Eurasian Studies

Marta Kiripolska, Visiting Scholar, Central Eurasian Studies